Grading Structure

Definition of Different Types of Teacher

Grading Structure

Within the school, we have adopted a simple grading structure in order to help people develop in their practice as effectively as possible. Next to each teacher within our directory, you will find either level 1,2 or 3 along with the art that they have reached this standard in.

Qi Gong Teacher 

Qi Gong instructors within Lotus Nei Gong have undertaken extensive training in the internal development methods of the Daoist tradition. They have shown technical proficiency in the exercises we teach within the school and are more than capable of passing on our Qi Gong syllabus. In the majority of cases they have completed a three year intensive program in the subject of Qi Gong and Nei Gong and they also continue to attend regular events with us to keep their knowledge base expanding.

Nei Gong Teacher (1, 2 or 3)

Nei Gong grades 1,2 and 3 are built upon the foundation of Qi Gong. What this means is that essentially a teacher within our school will progress like so: Qi Gong, Nei Gong 1, Nei Gong 2, Nei Gong 3. These are advanced grades for those teachers who have continued training with Damo Mitchell in complex energetic methods including transmission and direct intervention with a students progress.

Alchemy Teacher

Alchemy teachers are those trained under Damo in the alchemical meditation methods of the Daoists. They are able to begin leading students through the various stages of sitting practice which constitutes some of the more complex aspects of the Daoist tradition.

Martial Arts Teacher (1, 2 or 3)

Martial Arts teachers will have their style indicated along with either a number 1,2 or 3. This number indicates the level of their attainment as well as showing what material they commonly teach in their classes and on their courses. Note that each level of attainment takes many years of dedicated training to reach which is why our teacher level begins at 1.